Types of Airworthiness Certification

by A Niranjan
(Hyderabad, AP, INDIA)

How many types of aircraft certifications are there?

ANSWER: There are three main types of aircraft certifications. Standard airworthiness certification, export airworthiness certification, and special airworthiness certification.

Within the special airworthiness category, there are many certifications. Those are restriced, multiple, limited, primary, light sport, experimental and provisional certifications.

There are several types of experimental certifications. Those are light sport, amateur built, exhibition, research and development, showing compliance with regulations, crew training, and market surveys.

Visit the aircraft certification section of this website to learn more about these types of certifications.

Return to Aircraft Certification Questions.

Share this page:
Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.