Certification of Aircraft Components

Which FAR governs type certification of aircraft components?

ANSWER: FAR Part 21 - Certification Procedures for Products and Parts - is the regulation that governs the production of parts. There are six types of FAA approvals for a part to be eligible for installation on an "N" registered aircraft

1. A part produced under a Parts Manufacturing Approval (PMA)

2. A part produced under a Type Certificate (TC)

3. A part produced under a Production Certificate (PC)

4. A part produced under a Technical Standard Order (TSO)

5. A part produced under an Approved Production Inspection System (APIS)

6. A part produced under an EASA Production Organization Approval from a country that the U.S. has a Bilateral Aviation Safety Agreement (BASA) with Implementation Procedures for Airworthiness (IPA) in place for such parts.

Return to Aircraft Certification Questions.

Share this page:
Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.